Opinions

Do you know what grinds my gears? When people can be so opinionated and think they are always right. One of the biggest examples of this is people’s favorite type of music. Some people think rap is mumbled gibberish. Others think country sounds monotonous. Everybody is entitled to their own unique opinions, and that is understandable. But just because you like one type better than the other does not mean that it is true. In my opinion, I think rap is better than country. That doesn’t mean that it’s true, and it also doesn’t mean that I have the right to parade around proclaiming I am right. This can agitate people like me, and sometimes it annoys them to the point that they blog about it and feel the need to complain (hypocritical, yes, I know).

Another big debate that is just as annoying is the presidential race. I am fine if you want a different candidate than mine to win. Even if I think your views are wrong and that you don’t know what you are talking about, I won’t tell you any of that because I know it will upset you. I would really appreciate it if you would do the same. Generally, people who are adamant in their decision will not look at your point of view, but instead will start to yell their opinions louder. However, I would like to make it clear that I am not discouraging debates. In debates, people are forced to listen to both sides and make their decision based on what impresses them. There is nothing wrong with that. But when two people are discussing their choices and one of them keeps on pushing their opinion on the other, then that can go wrong. Finally, if nothing else, just keep it to yourself. You can even not look at both sides of the story, as long as YOU DON’T EXPECT THE OTHER PERSON TO.

That’s probably what bothers me the most: when people won’t do the things they are expecting the other person to do. In the end, both people are mad, and no debate has occurred. I guess the point of this blog is to try and express my point of view on this topic. Don’t feel obligated to follow this, but look at it as something to think about. One of the worst things that I can see happening is fighting, and that’s all I’m trying to prevent. That’s why some people think I don’t talk much, and I come off looking very demure. I always like to think before I speak, to avoid saying something that I will regret later. If I get angry, I will definitely say something I don’t mean to. This is the main reason I try to avoid conflict at all costs.

Once again, I hope some of you will read this and take something from it. If anything, maybe I’ll give you something to think about. I believe that it is healthy to think about lots of different aspects of life. Hopefully I’ve helped you do that!

Please don’t grind my gears by being dogmatic in your opinions!

About xgrindingxgearsx

I am just a normal guy in high school like a lot of you out there. The point of my blog is to tell about all the people and things that annoy me to no end: thus "dontgrindmygears" was born. Hope you enjoy! Leave comments of what grinds your gears.

Leave a Reply

