Homework woes

Do you know what grinds my gears?  Things take longer than they need to. It seems like every night I do homework, I think to myself, “Oh, this should only take about half an hour,” or “I only need to spend ten minutes on this”. Then, for whatever reason, that thing takes almost twice as long and I’m up until midnight working on something I should have had done already. This is probably also hindered by procrastination. As much as I try to avoid it, I love to procrastinate. But pair that along with the fact that I always think that it won’t take as long to finish and you probably start to see why this happens.

Now I know that I usually blog about how other people bother me, but today’s blog is probably more like me getting mad at my self- inflicted wounds. It’s my own fault that I don’t get things done in a timely manner early on in the night, and I am quite aware of that. But then again, I don’t know many teenagers from my school (or any school for that matter) who don’t have the occasional love-hate relationship with the persuasive Mr. Procrastination. That doesn’t make it right, but I know that this is a tough concept for teenagers. I think part of the problem is that there are so many distractions out there for the youth of my generation. We have grown up with cell phones, the internet, color TV, videogames, and much more. For me, it seems almost too easy to put off homework to do one of those things.

Also, (and I don’t know how many times this has happened to me), I will say, “Ok, I have had a long day. I will spend 15 minutes on the computer and then I will attack my homework.” I go to sit down at the computer, and almost if by magic, one hour has disappeared like a TV remote. It becomes very frustrating at times, because sometimes I would rather jump off a bridge than do my homework. Of course I would never jump off a bridge, but I would do something extremely fun and inviting like play video games instead of doing my homework.

I know that homework is important to do, and we don’t go to school to just goof around; however, I sometimes feel that they pile a little too much homework on us on certain nights. I wish somehow that teachers could manage what nights they would each give homework, because on some nights I have virtually no homework, but on other nights I have six to eight hours. This is partly due to the fact that I have seven homework classes this year, but I still think something could be done about that.

No matter what happens, I can only stress about things that I can change and affect, and one of those things is not procrastinating and allowing ample time to get everything done.

Why do I cause my own gears to grind because I procrastinate?

About xgrindingxgearsx

I am just a normal guy in high school like a lot of you out there. The point of my blog is to tell about all the people and things that annoy me to no end: thus "dontgrindmygears" was born. Hope you enjoy! Leave comments of what grinds your gears.

Leave a Reply

